Cryptozoology, Entities, Mysterious Beaings

Monsters from the Shadows of Reality

The article below was found at paranormal.about.com by , About.com Guide.

Strange creatures. Creatures that seem to have been spotted perhaps only once in a given area, and never again. So are they real? Do they exist in our physical reality or are they products of imagination and misidentification? Or do they exist in some other reality and pay only brief visits to our dimension, living on the outskirts of our perception?

Consider these reports of bizarre creatures from readers:

ROSWELL REPTILIAN

Mark was caring for his parents’ ten-acre estate in a remote valley near Roswell, New Mexico, famous, of course, for its alleged UFO crash. “This valley is surrounded by mountains to the west (Sacramento), the Permian Basin in the east, and the Carlsbad caverns to the south,” Mark tells us. “This basin is very ancient; it was once the shoreline of an ancient sea.

“The Bottomless Lakes State Park is within this basin and is the result of many strange legends both ancient and recent, with countless rumors of individuals who see things come out of the water, people being chased by strange creatures, sightings for UFOs, and the list goes on. Legends of creatures that live in these lakes are old and as mentioned keep occurring to this day.

“As I was waking up one morning around 10 a.m., I walked outside to get a breath of fresh air. My uncle, who lived directly behind us, had a dog named Ono. Ono was half pit bull and half blue heeler. Directly east of us was a field, and as I happened to look east in the field, Ono was chasing a creature that stood approximately 2½ to 3 feet tall. This creature was light brown in color and was definitely reptilian. I just stood there watching as this creature and Ono disappeared out of sight. I was not frightened, just in awe and disbelief of what I was actually witnessing.

“My cousin had seen the creature around the same time and several days later, my aunt, uncle, mom, and I had seen unusual tracks that were not, to our recollection, of any known animals of the area. I know what I witnessed and science cannot tell me otherwise.”

THE MONSTER OF BENBROOK LAKE

Benbrook Lake is a small body of water on the southwest side of Fort Worth, Texas, created by the Army Corp of Engineers as a flood control reservoir in the mid-1900s. It was here that Jack L. had his unusual sighting.

“The heat brings all manner of animals to the water at sunset,” says Jack. “Deer, armadillo, fox, raccoon and possums all frequent the dark, green pool, but I’m not exactly sure what I saw there in the waning glow of dusk on October 20, 2005.

“I had arrived at Holiday Park on the lake’s western shore around 6:15 in the early evening, but the thermometer still registered in the 90s. There wasn’t another soul in view except for a lone hobbyist flying his radio-controlled airplane some 200 yards away. I fanned out my blanket and settled down to stretch in preparation for my daily swim.

“I happened across a set of large, strange tracks that led into the water where I routinely swam. Although unusually large, I attributed the tracks to a pair of Great Danes that I had seen running with their owner earlier in the month. As the sounds of the lake began to filter into my awareness, I heard someone trudging through the underbrush and reeds that fronted a small patch of woods to my right, which separated me from the point on the shoreline where I went into the water. It never registered that there were no other vehicles or evidence of swimmers nearby. I walked slowly back to my blanket and collapsed to soak up the heat.

“As I rolled onto my left side, I saw it. I say ‘it’ because I don’t really know what ‘it’ was. It had dark fur and was large… perhaps seven or eight feet tall. It was pushing through a stand of reeds about 200 yards from me. The reeds came up to my chest, but only reached the animal’s waist. It appeared to walk upright, grunting in a belabored manner. The animal had turned away from me so I could not make out any facial details. I wheeled about to see if there was anyone within earshot, but the lake was deserted now. I can’t describe my fear. I quietly and quickly collected my stuff and strode back to my truck for safety. I sat quietly and watched the animal disappear into the woods.

“I was shaking. Several minutes passed before I cranked the truck and headed home, primarily because I was afraid I would see the creature along the winding lake road that lead out of Holiday Park. I returned to the site two days later and found sufficient evidence that something large did move about the reeds. It appeared as though something large had nested there. I don’t know what I encountered, but I still swim and bike at Benbrook. Perhaps, someone will corroborate what I saw.”

FOREST WHITE-CLAW

Zion and his buddies had built a fort to play in within a wooded field on the outskirts of town. It was a place to hang out and engage in pretend defense against imaginary enemies. What they didn’t count on was an intruder of an altogether strange sort.

“It was maybe three in the afternoon when school got out,” says Zion. “I decided to call my friend Eric to see if he would like to go to the fort. His mom always made him stay home and eat dinner first, so I told him I would just meet him there. We started building onto the fort.

“At about 5:00 p.m. it started getting dark, so we decided to head back. As we packed all of our stuff, both Eric and I noticed something slowly coming out of a bush about 150 yards north of us. Acting quickly, we dove silently into the fort. We sat there for at least five minutes.

“It was the size of a large wolf, but dark black with long, large, white claws. It did not look like anything Eric or I had ever seen before – nothing we could compare it to. As it vanished from our sites, we cautiously started back. We made it out of the forest where we came to an abandoned house. We did not plan on stopping, but noticed that about 100 yards on the path the creature was standing on all fours looking at us.

“We stood paralyzed as it slowly walked toward us. All of a sudden it stopped. We got a good look at it. It had dark yellow eyes and not one look of mercy on its face and a row of bright white teeth showed. All of a sudden, we heard a noise behind us. We quickly turned around to see a doe and a fawn running out of a thorn bush. We turned around and the creature was gone. Seeing the chance, we ran home. We made it home, but not one memory of that animal will ever leave my mind. We have not seen it since then.”

CHUPACABRAS ROADRUNNER

There have been many claims for Chupacabras sightings, some of them in the southern U.S., especially Texas. Although there is no consensus about what Chupacabras might be – descriptions vary widely – Dub and his wife Ann think they might have spotted a creature that fits a common description in 2004.

“We were driving home late at night in East Texas near Crockett,” Dub relates, “when we saw something run right across the road in front of us. It was about ten feet in front of our car. We both later on drew a picture of what we saw and they look almost the same.

“The features we both noted were: About four to five feet tall and ran on the two hind feet. The knees bent backward, not forward as a human’s. It made it across the road in three or four seconds. It had the body of a slim small child, not like a fat kangaroo. The arms chugged back and forth like a person running. The head had a pointed chin and a pointed top at the back like a rooster’s comb. The body looked gray or some other dark color. The thing looked to be an alien to both of us. We have never seen a picture of any [conventional] animal that resembled what we saw. It seems there have been many sightings of such a thing in the past. These are found on the Internet under Chupacabras.”

LIZARD MAN

It was also in Texas that a reader, calling himself The Kid, saw something larger when he was 12 years old. “My grandpa had taken us hunting up near Big Springs in west Texas,” he says. “We rode our jeep up the side of the mountain, when suddenly, two families of quail appeared. My grandpa was still teaching my two younger brothers to hunt, so they went with him to follow one family, and I followed the other all by myself.

“I strode up the mountain, and I carried with me only my shotgun and a bag full of shells. I scratched my foot on a very large rock. I howled in pain. I tended to my wound for a few minutes. I heard ducks nearby and knew that there had to be a nearby pond where I could wash my cut. I headed toward the sound. I stepped on a twig and six ducks flew off away from the pond. I figured the sound I made had scared them off, so I kept walking there.

“I was at the shore splashing water on my leg when I heard another splashing sound. I looked up and saw a man leaning over, drinking from the pond. It only took me a few seconds to realize that this was no ordinary man. This man had scales and a lizard’s head! I was petrified – I couldn’t move a muscle. I stood there watching the deformity drink, when all of a sudden I saw it jerk its head up. It eyed me for what seemed like hours. It jumped in the water and started to swim toward me. All I could do was shoot at it. I shot three shells, and then I heard the dreaded click. I ran and ran and ran. I met up with my grandpa, and he didn’t believe me. Would you blame him?”

LEERING GARGOYLE

Seeing a bizarre creature out in the remote wilderness is one thing… but seeing one in the landscaping of your own home is quite another. In August 2005, Greg stepped outside his apartment building to smoke a cigarette. “As I was turning to head back indoors,” he reports, “a gleam in a nearby shrub (about 20 feet away) caught my eye. I looked more closely and saw what, for all intents and purposes, was a face leering at me. At the moment, I thought how unusual that the evening lighting and the arrangement of the shrub’s branches and leaves would create such a startling effect. So I walked closer to the bush, wishing I had a camera to capture this unusual optical illusion.

“At about five feet from the shrub, I stopped dead in my tracks. This was a face – a very malevolent face that looked like a gremlin from the movies. Its eyes were focused intently on mine and it was perfectly still, although a slight breeze was rustling the rest of the bush. Disbelieving, I shook my head, closed my eyes, and opened them again. The face was still there, still looking at me.

“I thought it must be a cat, raccoon or possum and took another step toward the face. At that moment, I felt a wave of such hostility that it practically took my breath away. I looked more closely now and could see green and darkly mottled ridged eyebrows, brilliantly white (almost mesmerizing) pupils, rubbery-looking pointed ears, and a very large mouth partly opened in what appeared to be a sneer – or a threat.

“Shaken, I hurried back into my apartment, locked the door, and looked out the front window only to see that the thing was still watching me. Keep in mind that I was looking at it from a different angle now, yet it held its form and appeared to have slightly turned its head toward me. Then I understood something. I had caught a glimpse of some legendary elf- or gargoyle-like creature, and I wasn’t supposed to. The malevolence I felt and the hypnotic stare of the creature were its warnings to me to back off.

“What would have happened if I’d walked right up to the thing in the bush? I’m glad I didn’t, by the way.”

BLACK LUNAR MONSTER

The woods are home to all kinds of creatures, of course, but most of them can be readily identified. Occasionally, one is sighted that is not so easily named. Braydon and his friend Tony were walking in a wooded area near Bardstown, Kentucky between 11:00 p.m. and 12:00 midnight. “Did you hear that?” asked Tony. “Hear what?” Braydon replied.

They both listened. Tony was about to say something else when a black-skinned, orange-eyed creature just walked right by them. “I was startled for a sec, then I was scared stiff,” Braydon says, “for it was now looking right at us. I whispered, ‘Run!’ Before we started running, the creature ran in the opposite direction.

“It was about five feet tall on all fours and looked like a mix between a pit bull terrier and a giant bird with no wings. It doesn’t really walk on all fours, but kind of leaps. No fur.”

CREATURE ON THE GARAGE

Hollywood has created many memorable and terrifying fictional monsters over the years, but what Adam saw in December 2005 at his home in North Hollywood, California seemed very real to him.

“I was inside my garage all day and night organizing things,” Adam says. “I was finishing up when at approximately 9:30 p.m. I was shocked by a large crash and smash against my closed garage door. At first I thought it was maybe a drunk homeless person that fell against the garage door, or kids outside throwing a football around. So I slowly and quietly listened and walked out of the garage to hear what it was.

“As I got around to the front of the garage, I didn’t see anyone. I decided to keep quiet and just listen for any movement. Then I heard something on the roof of the garage. I went into the garage and grabbed my flashlight. I returned outside and looked on top of the garage, which is 12 feet high – and there it was in the night, crouching on all fours. I didn’t need to turn the flashlight on, but I did.

“When I flashed the light on the thing, it looked back at me with glowing yellow eyes. At first I thought it was a cat, but it was too large. Possum, no; mountain lion, no. It kept looking at me for about 30 seconds. I still thought it could be a cat until it turned its head away from me. ‘Oh my god,’ is all I could say. My brain had never seen an animal such as this one.

“Its head was that of a dog, its snout wasn’t long, it was medium and flat. It scared the hell out of me. It had a nubby tail, but its head was unusual, like no animal I’ve ever seen. It was about 3½ to 4 feet long, looked about 40 pounds, gray or black fur like a cat. After those 30 seconds of confrontation, it leaped off the garage with amazing ease, and thundered through my backyard, jumped over a 7-foot fence and was gone.

“It wasn’t a cat; it was too heavy and clumsy, like a dog, yet it wasn’t a dog because it jumped off a 12-foot-high garage. It wasn’t a mountain lion because it was gray and black and it had a dog face. It was a different creature that possibly related to a cat or dog, but much more evolved and quicker.”

About Admin

Since my very first sighting of a pretty large, silent and very bizarre object up in the sky (which I knew for sure was not a plane etc.), and that was around the age of 15, I started down the path of becoming very interested and then apart of paranormal phenomenon and doing investigations when I could. There had been and still is, many paranormal related events that have happened to me. This blog is my launching point to share it all. Other than all that, I'm just a guy who has been geeking it out with computers since 1986...the good old days when computers had character! I am also a guitar player for more than 20 years who has always been into and plays metal. 1980s, early 90's style metal. Aside from all that, I am very much into amateur radio (shortwave, HAM radio and so on). There's a lot more that I'm interested in, in life of course. I'm a person who gets into a pretty mixed bag of interesting things in life!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Have a news tip?

Email your news tips to be posted in the Para News section.

Report your sightings

Have an experience, encounter or a sighting with the paranormal, such as ghosts, a UFO sighting, cryptid sightings etc., you'd like to share? Send in your true story or picture(s) of a paranormal experience to be included in the True stories section.

Contact the webmaster:

Questions, suggestions or comments? Drop me an email and I'll get back to you as soon as I can. Email the webmaster.

Cryptid News!

Cryptid News

Site Calender

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

RSS Paranormal Phenomena

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Crypto News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Para Videos

  • 20 years of Mars exploration June 28, 2017
    A look back at NASA's robotic exploration of the Red Planet over the last two decades....
  • Can you remember this ? June 27, 2017
    A look at the surprisingly common psychological phenomenon of false memories....
  • Spider shoots 25-meter web June 26, 2017
    The Darwin's Bark Spider is a real-life spiderwoman with a gigantic river-spanning web....
  • Longest marble run June 25, 2017
    This record-breaking marble run in Elgg, Switzerland stretched 1,918.12 meters through the town....
  • Predicting disasters June 24, 2017
    Richard A. Clarke talks about the ways in which catastrophes can be predicted in advance....
  • How big are spacecraft ? June 23, 2017
    Most images of spacecraft are set in space, which makes it hard to judge relative size....
  • Eusocial animals June 22, 2017
    How do ants and termites manage to create such enormous and impressive structures ?...
  • Seeing the invisible June 21, 2017
    What if you could see invisible air currents, temperature gradients and pressure differences ?...
  • Record-breaking aviary June 20, 2017
    The Shukavana bird home in Mysuru, India is home to 468 different species of birds....
  • This video isn't real June 19, 2017
    When you watch a YouTube video, what you are seeing is an interpretation of reality....

RSS Podcasts

  • The Church of Jediism - Paranormal Podcast 489 June 28, 2017
    What is the Church of Jediism? Daniel Jones and Loyd Auerbach join us to discuss you and The Force! In part two, Laird Scranton joins us to discuss a little known but fascinating ancient site in Scotland, Skara Brae. You can find more info on The Church of Jediism at TheChurchOfJediism.org You can find Laird's book at Amazon.com: The Mystery of Skara Br […]
  • Sir No Face with Chad Calek - Paranormal Podcast 488 June 20, 2017
    Chad Calek of Paranormal State fame has been making paranormal documentaries for the last several years and his most recent is SIR NO FACE! Filmed in Australia, Chad shares his experience and having captured the image of a full blown ghost in the film. You can find more about his upcoming SIR NO FACE LIVES tour at SIRNOFACE.com -GAIA- The Paranormal Podcast […]
  • Phenomena with Annie Jacobsen - Paranormal Podcast 487 June 15, 2017
    The US government has and continues do real research on psychic phenomena like ESP and psychokinesis. Pulitzer Prize nominated journalist Annie Jacobsen talks to us about her research and her new book on the program in part one of this week's Paranormal Podcast. In part two, of the show Preston Dennett talks to us about contact with ETs. This may be my […]
  • The Book of Truth - You Were Here - Paranormal Podcast 486 June 6, 2017
    On this edition of The Paranormal Podcast, master channeler Paul Selig talks to us about how he writes his book and the information he receives from spirit guides. In part two, we talk to Gian Sardar about her paranormal experiences and her new novel, You Were Here. You can find Paul & Gian's books at Amazon.com: The Book of Truth: The Mastery Trilo […]
  • What Do Your Dreams Mean - Paranormal Podcast 485 May 31, 2017
    J.M. DeBord joins us to talk about dream interpretation on this edition of The Paranormal Podcast. In part two, Paul Blake Smith shares his theories on the Second Coming of Jesus Christ! You can find J.M & Paul's books at Amazon.com: The Dream Interpretation Dictionary: Symbols, Signs, and Meanings The Treasure Keys to Christ's Return Thanks J. […]
  • The Roswell UFO Conspiracy - Paranormal Podcast 484 May 24, 2017
    Has Nick Redfern uncovered the truth about Roswell? We discuss on this week's Paranormal Podcast. In part two, Nicolas Pearson joins us to discuss the healing power of crystals! You can find the books we discuss on Amazon.com: The Roswell UFO Conspiracy: Exposing A Shocking And Sinister Secret Crystals for Karmic Healing: Transform Your Future by Releas […]
  • Physicians Untold Stories and Twilight Zone Life Lessons - Paranormal Podcast 483 May 18, 2017
    Dr. Scott Kolbaba joins us to discuss physicians' experiences that go beyond science. In part two, we share an episode of our GREAT TV PODCAST on the life lessons of The Twilight Zone with TV critic and author Mark Dawidziak. I loved this episode and I hope you do too! You can find Dr. Kolbaba's and Mark's book at Amazon.com: Physicians' […]
  • Poltergeists and The Unseen Hand - Paranormal Podcast 482 May 9, 2017
    Jenny Ashford joins on The Paranormal Podcast to discuss poltergeists on part one of the program. In part two, Dr. Joe Gallenberger talks to us about the afterlife discussions he has had with his late brother who committed suicide. If you are contemplating suicide, help is available. The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline can be reached at 1-800-273-8255. […]
  • Haunted Toys - Paranormal Podcast 481 May 3, 2017
    We talk about Haunted Toys in part one with David Weatherly and Ross Allison in part one of The Paranormal Podcast. In part two, we look at the softer side of the paranormal and A Call From Heaven with Josie Varga. You can find the books we featured at Amazon.com: Haunted Toys A Call From Heaven Thanks David, Ross and Josie! -Audible- They support us, please […]
  • Fairies Pookahs and Changelings - Paranormal Podcast 480 April 26, 2017

RSS Hot Topics!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Most Popular

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unexplained

  • Hollow Earth, JFK and Admiral Byrd June 25, 2017
    Sean Casteel: Sean Casteel investigates. To many in the UFO and conspiracy theory communities, Admiral Richard E. Byrd is not merely some benign fatherly figure smiling at us from the pages of 20th century history. While Byrd is commonly thought of as a nat...
  • Washingtonople: The secret history of America's capital: Part 1 June 14, 2017
    Conrad Yeats: From 'Raising Atlantis'. At one end lies the Washington Monument, at the opposite end is the Capitol Building. For more than two hundred years, the monuments of the National Mall in Washington, D.C., have stood proudly by day in tribute to Ame...
  • A curious incident at Voronezh June 3, 2017
    Edward Crabtree: Did an extraterrestrial craft land in Russia's Yuzhny Park in 1989 ? Two military officers, sent out to make contact with the pilots of a crashed UFO on the outskirts of a city, confront an enormous robot-like being with a flattened head... Su...
  • Amityville horror May 26, 2017
    Sean Casteel: Sean Casteel investigates what might lie behind the infamous Amityville horror case. Amityville. The very name of the small Long Island, New York, community instantly conjures visions of horror, of a death-dealing psychopath laying waste his p...
  • In Review: Tarot as a Way of Life May 8, 2017
    Kathleen Meadows: Kathleen Meadows reviews a book by author Karen Hamaker-Zondag. Despite having been published twenty years ago, I continue to have Tarot as a Way of Life on my recommended reading list. 307409If you resonate with Jungian psychology, you'll lo...
  • Commander X April 25, 2017
    Sean Casteel: Sean Casteel explores the story behind the UFO informant known as 'Commander X'. Most discussions of Commander X begin with this question. Who the heck is he REALLY? This issue is grappled with in the newly released "The Commander X Files – Up...
  • Buddhism and the Tarot teachings April 3, 2017
    Kathleen Meadows: Keathleen Meadows explores Tarot cards and Buddhism. The Tarot deck can be used as an instructional guide to psycho-spiritual development. Following the path of the Fool which is the number 0 in the Major Arcana, a third level of consciousnes...
  • UVB-76: Russia's mysterious radio station March 21, 2017
    Joseph Devine: A look at one of Russia's most enduring enigmas. The late Winston Churchill stated: "Russia is a riddle, wrapped in a mystery, inside an enigma". This is still true today, at least concerning Russia's mysterious radio station commonly known as...
  • Was inventor Nikola Tesla a UFO contactee? March 9, 2017
    Sean Casteel: Sean Casteel takes a look at the life of Nikola Tesla. In the more than 70 years since his death, Nikola Tesla has never ceased to be a fascinating, mysterious figure dwelling somewhere outside the borders of history as it is understood by the...
  • 2017 authentic spirituality February 15, 2017
    Kathleen Meadows: Kathleen Meadows discusses how to set goals for the coming year. This is the time of year when visioning, orienting intentions and setting goals is at the top of most people’s minds. The first step is reflecting on what the last year's succes...

RSS What’s Hot

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Webmasters Pick!

More and more UFO sightings are being captured on video and more these days. Are we about to be apart of an actual contact event? Do you believe we are really being watched? Watch this DVD & you will not think the same way again!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers

Add to Technorati Favorites Dailygalaxy_150x35_026
Paranormal Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Join My Community at MyBloglog!
Paranormal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

Subscribe & Share Here

Fair Use Notice

This site may or may not contain copyrighted material the use of which may not be specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democratic, scientific, social justice, and religious issues, etc., pertaining to paranormal issues. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes.
